Distinguished Researchers Honored with Mary Swartz Rose Awards at Experimental Biology 2014

• Download PDF for printing

Contact: Ana Wilbert (awilbert@crnusa.org) / 202-204-7665

Washington, D.C., April 28, 2014—Johanna W. Lampe, Ph.D., and Yuan Yuan Li, M.D., Ph.D., were honored yesterday with the Mary Swartz Rose Senior Investigator Award and the Mary Swartz Rose Young Investigator Award, respectively, at the American Society for Nutrition (ASN) Scientific Sessions and Annual Meeting held in conjunction with Experimental Biology 2014 in San Diego.

The Mary Swartz Rose awards are jointly presented by ASN and the Council for Responsible Nutrition (CRN), the dietary supplement industry’s leading trade association, and are awarded to recognize outstanding research on the safety and efficacy of bioactive compounds for human health.

“CRN is pleased to reaffirm our support for nutrition research through our ongoing relationship with ASN and by providing grants to recognize and support nutrition researchers,” said Duffy MacKay, N.D., senior vice president, scientific and regulatory affairs. “I am honored to have presented these awards to two notable researchers who have showed tremendous dedication and promise in advancing nutrition science.”

Dr. Lampe, research professor in the Department of Epidemiology, and core faculty, Nutritional Sciences Program at the University of Washington, studies human nutrition with a focus on bioactive compounds, and has published more than 200 research articles in nutrition and cancer journals. She is also the associate division director for the Division of Public Health Sciences, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center.

Dr. Li, an assistant research professor for the Department of Biology at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, focused her studies on nutritional epigenetics of cancer and aging, and has published a number of high-profile papers in scientific journals.

The awards are named in honor of the late Mary Swartz Rose (1874-1941), founder and president of what was then the American Institute of Nutrition (now ASN). The Mary Swartz Rose Senior Investigator Award is given to an investigator with ten years or more of postgraduate training, for outstanding preclinical and/or clinical research on the safety and efficacy of dietary supplements as well as essential nutrients and other bioactive food components that may be distributed as supplements or functional food components. The Mary Swartz Rose Young Investigator Award is based on the same qualifications but is given to an investigator with ten years or less of postgraduate training.

The 2013 winners for the Senior Investigator and Young Investigator awards were William G. Helferich, Ph.D., and Hang Xiao, Ph.D., respectively. CRN’s commitment as an award partner has helped support ASN in recognizing the best and brightest minds in the field. The Mary Swartz Rose awards were first presented in 2008 and have been supported annually by CRN ever since. For more information about the Mary Swartz Rose awards and other award winners, visit ASN’s website.

Note to Editor: The Council for Responsible Nutrition (CRN), founded in 1973, is a Washington, D.C.-based trade association representing 100+ dietary supplement manufacturers, ingredient suppliers, and companies providing services to those manufacturers and suppliers. In addition to complying with a host of federal and state regulations governing dietary supplements in the areas of manufacturing, marketing, quality control and safety, our manufacturer and supplier members also agree to adhere to additional voluntary guidelines as well as to CRN’s Code of Ethics. Visit www.crnusa.org. Follow us on Twitter@crn_supplements and @wannabewell and on Facebook.

CRN Press Room