Mary Swartz Rose Awards

CRN and ASNF Joint Initiative to Advance Nutrition Education

Mary Swartz Rose Awards

Since 2008, CRN has provided the American Society of Nutrition (ASN) with annual education awards for nutrition researchers through the Mary Swartz Rose Awards, which are presented to investigators in the field of essential nutrients and bioactive food components. 

Previous award winners:

2024 | 2023 | 20222021 | 20202019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008

Colin Kay, PhD, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
2024 Senior Investigator Award recipient

Rafaela G. Feresin, PhD, Georgia State University
2024 Young Investigator Award recipient  

Robert S. Chapkin, PhD, Texas A&M University
2023 Senior Investigator Award recipient

Amandeep Sandhu, PhD, Illinois Institute of Technology
2023 Young Investigator Award recipient

IAFNS Ad Hoc Working Group on a Framework For Developing Recommended Intakes Of Bioactive Dietary Substances
2022 Senior Investigator Award recipients

  • Allison Yates, PhD, RD, Agricultural Research Service/USDA (Retired)
  • Johanna Dwyer, DSc, RD, Tufts University School of Medicine and Jean Mayer USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging at Tufts University, Tufts Medical Center
  • John Erdman, Jr., PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Janet King, PhD, University of California, Berkeley
  • Barbara Lyle, PhD, Lyle, Inc., and Northwestern University, School of Professional Studies
  • Barbara Schneeman, PhD, University of California, Davis
  • Connie Weaver, PhD, San Diego State University

Paul A. Spagnuolo, PhD, University of Guelph, Canada
2022 Young Investigator Award recipient

Nancy E. Moran, Ph.D., Baylor College of Medicine
2021 Young Investigator Award recipient

Charles Brenner, Ph.D.
2020 Senior Investigator Award recipient

Jaume Amengual, Ph.D.
2020 Young Investigator Award recipient

Catharine Ross, Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
2019 Senior Investigator Award recipient

Aditi Das, Ph.D., University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine
2019 Young Investigator Award recipient

Elizabeth Johnson, Ph.D.
2018 Senior Investigator Award recipient 

S. Raza Shaikh, Ph.D.
2018 Young Investigator Award recipient

Giulio Maria Pasinetti
2017 Senior Investigator Award recipient 

Shu Wang
2017 Young Investigator Award recipient

Jeffrey Blumberg, Ph.D., FASN
2016 Senior Investigator Award recipient 

Zeynep Madak-Erdogan, Ph.D.
2016 Young Investigator Award recipient

2016 press release

Denise M. Ney, Ph.D.
2015 Senior Investigator Award recipient 

Giuliana Noratto, Ph.D.
2015 Young Investigator Award recipient

2015 press release

Johanna W. Lampe, Ph.D.
2014 Senior Investigator Award recipient 

Yuan Yuan Li, M.D., Ph.D.
2014 Young Investigator Award recipient

2014 press release

William G. Helferich, Ph.D.
2013 Senior Investigator Award recipient 

Hang Xiao, Ph.D.
2013 Young Investigator Award recipient

Diane Birt, Ph.D.
2012 Senior Investigator Award recipient 

Oliver Chen, Ph.D.
2012 Young Investigator Award recipient

Xiang-Dong Wang, Ph.D.
2011 Senior Investigator Award recipient 

Mario Ferruzzi, Ph.D.
2011 Young Investigator Award recipient

2011 press release

Joel Mason
2010 Senior Investigator Award recipient 

Hong Chen
2010 Young Investigator Award recipient

Norman Farnsworth
2009 Senior Investigator Award recipient 

Susanne Talcott
2009 Young Investigator Award recipient

Bruce N. Ames, Ph.D.
2008 Senior Investigator Award recipient 

Mary Gamble, Ph.D.
2008 Young Investigator Award recipient

2008 press release